Review: 14

14
14 by Peter Clines

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Padlocked doors. Strange light fixtures. Mutant cockroaches.

There are some odd things about Nate’s new apartment.

Of course, he has other things on his mind. He hates his job. He has no money in the bank. No girlfriend. No plans for the future. So while his new home isn’t perfect, it’s livable. The rent is low, the property managers are friendly, and the odd little mysteries don’t nag at him too much.

At least, not until he meets Mandy, his neighbor across the hall, and notices something unusual about her apartment. And Xela’s apartment. And Tim’s. And Veek’s. Because every room in this old Los Angeles brownstone has a mystery or two. Mysteries that stretch back over a hundred years. Some of them are in plain sight. Some are behind locked doors. And all together these mysteries could mean the end of Nate and his friends.

Or the end of everything…


*Includes tons of spoilers*
Or at least quite a few 

Where to start… I guess I’ll just begin at, well, the beginning.

When I started listening to this book, it was hard to stop. Not only do I love the narrator, Ray Porter, but the story itself dragged me into it pretty quickly. It was interesting with the mystery and things you couldn’t explain and I really liked getting to know the different people who Nate met in the building.

For quite a while it had me hooked. All the new clues and mysterious moments with people not being who they said they were, the owners of the house being seemingly not even existing, no power lines but still electricity in the house and of course, the writing on the walls! I mean come on, how to make a book more interesting than adding hidden messages on the walls, and some of them in blood even? Yes, I like that stuff. It might be cliche as hell, but I love those kind of things. Truly do.

Then they found the mysterious control panel, and a switch made the house shake, and it all went downhill from there. A room sucking people into space? Flying dragon-whales-with-tentacles-who-can-speak-into-your-mind-things? What on earth? I don’t even know how to make a proper review out of this, because it was all just too much. Yes, I get it, it’s a sci-fi and things gotta be a bit crazy, but there’s a limit to everything, and in the end I was basically just sitting there waiting for the book to be done so I could get rid of it from my reading list. I’m stubborn, if I start a book, I finish it, but for the last three hours I just couldn’t wait for this one to be over.

Now to my actual three stars. Don’t think it’s because I in the end started liking it again. No, it’s for the characters. I liked that they seemed quite real to me. They had their problems, you didn’t know everything about them and some things weren’t told until sometime in the end of the story. I liked that. And I guess one of the stars is for the narrator and because even though the last two hours weren’t my cup of tea, the first 9 were quite good. I think around the first 6 or 7 were quite amazing even, so it didn’t completely waste my time.

Oh, and one last thing. If your way of killing off characters is to write “And then he died,” you really need to work on your making-people-feel-something-when-something-sad-happens skills. Because that was terrible.

Leave a Reply

