One more time…

Somtimes I feel like I don’t know what words to use to describe my opinions, or how to explain to people why I no longer want anything to do with them if they think it’s in any way good that Trump is now the most powerful man in the world, but the thing is, I don’t even know why I should have to explain it. Why do I have to describe the feelings I have about this? Why do I have to point out to you why we’re too different to be friends? But I guess I should. At least one more time.

So I know I’ve said this before, but I think I should say it once again.

I don’t want any Trump supporters in my life.

If you support him, I do no longer want to have anything to do with you. Right now, I don’t care how long we’ve been friends or if we happen to be related, I don’t want you in my life. It’s not about having different views, it’s not about the fact that we don’t think the same person should have won the election, but about you standing on someone’s side who is making the lives of some of my dearest friends so difficult.
 
I have American friends I see as just as important as my real life friends. Some of them are actually even more important than people I’ve known my whole life.
Why? Because they understand me. They respect me. They accept me for who I am.
 
Unlike many of you.
 
These are the people who don’t judge me for who I am. They are the first to ask what’s wrong when I’m having a bad day and the only ones to care about things most of you don’t give a damn about. You may be the ones I meet in real life, you may be related to me, by blood or marriage, it doesn’t matter, but they’re the ones who care.
 
They don’t laugh at me when I tell them about my love for a band who almost no one remembers anymore. They don’t tell me I’ll change my mind when I say I never want kids. They don’t ask if I’m serious when I tell them I’m aromantic. They didn’t question when I described the kind of relationship Juuli and I have.
 
And why not?
 
Because unlike most of you, they don’t judge. 

You wouldn’t believe what kind of amazing people I’ve met online. People who don’t just say they accept others for who they are, but who actually mean it. It’s such an easy thing to say, many of you do, but yet I hear you judge me every time I try to speak. Yet you question my life choices like they aren’t valid. Yet you refuse to accept me for who I am.

But they don’t. Because they’re my friends. Real friends.

 
These friends of mine are terrified. They don’t feel safe in the country they see as their home. They don’t dare to be themselves, because right now, it’s a danger to them. Trump is not only scaring the living hell out of them, but he’s killing the light in their eyes. He’s been president for a week and he’s already making their lives so difficult, and many of them try desperately to find ways to distract themselves, by reading, walking, running, music, video games, alcohol… all to just for a moment get away from the fear they’re now living in,
 
My friends are scared, and it’s breaking my heart to see them this way. I don’t know how many tears I’ve cried reading their words on twitter and facebook, realising that there’s nothing I can do, nothing they can do, to stop this.
 
And this is why I delete Trump’s supporters from my social media. This is why I no longer talk to people I’ve known since I was just a little kid, because people who stand by the side of someone who’s the reason behind their fear, are simply people I don’t want in my life anymore. 

I may be safe and sound in Sweden, but my heart is with the ones I love, and right now it’s crying for my American friends.

Leave a Reply

